A weekly look at SoCal life covering news, arts and culture, and more.
Hosted by John Rabe

Hammer Museum announces Made in LA 2014 artists

Annie Philbin (left), director of the Hammer Museum, with Claire Hoffman of the Goldhirsh Foundation.
Annie Philbin (left), director of the Hammer Museum, with Claire Hoffman of the Goldhirsh Foundation.
Jerry Gorin/KPCC

Listen to story

Download this story 8MB

This week the Hammer Museum announced the 35 artists who will be in Made in LA for 2014. Reporter Jori Finkel joins us to talk about the goal of the biennial event and some of the artists and groups selected.

Here's the full list of artists: Juan Capistrán, Danielle Dean, Harry Dodge, Lecia Dole-Recio, Kim Fisher, Judy Fiskin, Magdalena Suarez Frimkess & Michael Frimkess, Mariah Garnett, Gerard & Kelly, Tony Greene, Samara Golden, Piero Golia, Marcia Hafif, Channing Hansen, Jibade-Khalil Huffman, James Kidd Studio, Barry Johnston, Kchung, Devin Kenny, Gabriel Kuri, Caitlin Lonegan, Los Angeles Museum of Art, Tala Madani, Max Maslansky, Emily Mast, Jennifer Moon,  Brian O’Connell, Harsh Patel, Marina Pinsky, Public Fiction, Sarah Rara, A.L. Steiner, Ricky Swallow, Clarissa Tossin, Wu Tsang.

Reviews of the first Made in LA were generally positive. But Finkel points this this one, from Artforum, by Michael Ned Holte, who, interestingly, helped curate the current Made In LA.

"...Overall, one was left wondering what, exactly, made this exhibition “LA” beyond the mailing addresses of its artists. Would the stamp of the region be so readily visible on these works if they were shown elsewhere? ... The first edition of Made in L.A. left open the question of whether the city really needs such a determinedly local biennial. But either way, the exhibition may be considered prime evidence for the Hammer’s increasing importance at a notoriously tumultuous moment for this city’s institutions. It has already begun scripting a sequel. -- Michael Ned Holte in Artforum, 2012.

Full disclosure: the Mohn family, which helped build KPCC's Mohn Broadcast Center, is again giving a $100,000 prize for best artist at the biennial.